SYMPOSIUMS

ACCEPTED SYMPOSIUMS

S1: Botanical Gardens

S1.1: Revaluation of Botanical Gardens. Original title: Revaloración de los Jardines botánicos. Marisa Cristina Ocrospoma, Peru,  Jardin Botanico San Fernando, Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, UNMSM. (m_ocros@hotmail.com / marisacristinao@gmail.com).

S1.2: Contributions of Botanical Gardens to the Conservation of Native Flora. Original title: Aportes de los Jardines Botánicos a la Conservación de la Flora Nativa, Nathalia Chavarro, Colombia, Jardín Botánico de Bogotá. (nchavarro@jbb.gov.co).

S1.3: Diversity of live collections (ex situ, in situ, quasi in situ) in the Botanical Gardens of Latin America. Original title: Diversidad de colecciones vivas (ex situ, in situ, quasi in situ) en los jardines botánicos de Latinoamérica, Hugo Geovanny Romero Saltos, Ecuador, Yachay Tech – Escuela de Ciencias Biológicas e Ingeniería. (hromero@yachaytech.edu.ec / hgromero@hotmail.com).

S1.4: Ex situ conservation of threatened taxa: real experiences from the Botanical Gardens of Latin America in the context of the Global Strategy for the Conservation of Plant Species. Original title: Conservación ex situ de taxones amenazados: experiencias reales desde los jardines botánicos de Latinoamérica en el marco de la Estrategia Mundial para la Conservación de las Especies Vegetales 2011-2020, Hugo Geovanny Romero Saltos, Ecuador, Yachay Tech – Escuela de Ciencias Biológicas e Ingeniería. (hromero@yachaytech.edu.ec / hgromero@hotmail.com).


S2: Botany and Society

S2.1: Plants and society. Original title: Plantas y sociedad, Jennifer Martínez González Quevedo, Cuba, Quinta de los Molinos, Oficina del Historiador de la Ciudad. (jennifermgq@nauta.cu / jennifer@patrimonio.ohc.cu).

S2.2: The role of botany in current society. Original title: El rol de la botánica en la sociedad actual, Walter Palacios y Marcia Peñafiel, Ecuador, Herbario Nacional/Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad, INABIO. (walterpalacios326@yahoo.com y marcia.penafiel@biodiversidad.gob.ec).


S3: Early Career Investigators Symposium: Biodiversity in the Americas, Lucia Lohmann y Mauricio Bonifacino, Brazil/Uruguay,  International Association for Plant Taxonomy IAPT. (llohmann@usp.br y mbonifa@gmail.com).


S4: Ethnobotany

S4.1: Traditional medicine in a global world. Original title: La medicina tradicional en un mundo global, Narel Paniagua Zambrana, Bolivia, Universidad Mayor de San Andrés / Herbario Nacional de Bolivia. (nyaroslava@yahoo.es / nyaroslava@cejaandina.org).

S4.2: The Ethnobotany of shamanism to the Nagoya Protocol, Rainer W Bussmann, Bolivia, Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales. (rbussmann@gmail.com / rbussmann@cejaandina.org).

S4.3: Useful plants of Latin America: advances, challenges and opportunities. Original title: Plantas útiles de Latinoamérica: avances, retos y oportunidades, Mauricio Diazgranados, United Kingdom, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. (m.diazgranados@kew.org / espeletias@gmail.com).


S5: Paleobotany

S5.1: Paleobotany from Latin America: Plants, forests and villages of the New World. Original title: Paleoetnobotánica desde Latinoamérica: Plantas, bosques y pueblos del Nuevo Mundo, Fernando J. Astudillo, Ecuador, Universidad San Francisco de Quito / Simon Fraser University (Canadá). (fastudil@sfu.ca / fjastudillo@asig.com.ec).

S5.2: Paleobotany and paleocology in Latin America. Original title: Paleobotánica y paleoecología en Latinoamérica, Paula Rodríguez, Francia, Institute of Evolution Sciences (ISEM), University of Montpellier. (paularsat@gmail.com).

S5.3: Paleopalinology and paleobotany as a way to reconstruct past climates, the evolution of plants and the historical biogeography. Original title: Paleopalinología y paleobotánica como medio para reconstruir el clima pasado, la evolución de las plantas y la biogeografía histórica, Carina Hoorn y Giovanni Bogota-Angel The Netherlands/Colombia. (m.c.hoorn@uva.nl y ragiob@yahoo.com).

S5.4: Fossil Plants of the Neotropics: Evolution, Floristics and New Discoveries. Original title: Plantas Fósiles del Neotrópico: Evolución, Florística y Nuevos Descubrimientos, Fabiany Herrera, Estados Unidos, Chicago Botanic Garden. (fherrera@chicagobotanic.org / fabianyht@gmail.com).


S6: Education in Biodiversity: Botany and its challenges. Original title: Educación en Biodiversidad: la Botánica y sus desafíos, Paulo Takeo Sano, Brazil. (ptsano@usp.br).


S7: From the leaf to the basin: The use of stable isotopes to understand the role of the plant cover in the hydrological cycle. Original title: De la hoja a la cuenca: El uso de los isotopos estables para entender el rol de las coberturas vegetales en el ciclo hidrológico, Iván Felipe Benavides Martínez, Colombia. (pipeben@gmail.com).


S8: Multiscale ecophysiological strategies: from the seeds and the individual to the communities. Original title: Estrategias ecofisiológicas multiescala: desde las semillas y el individuo a las comunidades.

S8.1: Physiological strategies of seeds in the Brazilian Savannas. Original title: Estrategias fisiológicas de semillas en las sabanas brasileñas, Jales Teixeira Chaves Filho, Brasil, Pontifícia Universidad Católica de Goiás. (jaleschaves@yahoo.com.br).

S8.2: Plant ecophysiology of arid zones. Original title: Ecofisiología vegetal de zonas áridas, Francisco A. Sequeo, Chile, Universidad de La Serena. (f_squeo@userena.cl).


S9: Recent advances and current challenges in physiology and plant development. Original title: Avances recientes y retos actuales en fisiología y desarrollo vegetal, Juan Armando Casas-Mollano y Sofia Carvalho, Ecuador, Yachay Tech. (jcasas@yachaytech.edu.ec y scarvalho@yachaytech.edu.ec).


S10: Seeds and their importance of the conservation of biodiversity and their ecosystemic services. Original title: Las semillas y su importancia para la conservación de la biodiversidad y sus servicios ecosistémicos, Tiziana Ulian, United Kingdom, The Royal Botanic Gardens Kew. (t.ulian@kew.org / tiziana.ulian@gmail.com).


S11: Flora of Caquetá. Original title: Flora del Caquetá, Marco Aurelio Correa Munera, Colombia, Universidad de la Amazonia. (ma.correa@udla.edu.co / marcorreamunera@gmail.com).


S12: Native trees of the insular Caribbean covering aspects of conservation, economic value, and distribution. Original title: Árboles autóctonos del caribe insular abarcando aspectos de conservación, valor económico y distribución, Ricardo Guarionex Garcia, Dominican Republic, Jardín Botánico Nacional Doctor Rafael María Moscoso. (acacia_rgg@hotmail.com).


S13: Archipelagos of the Pacific: Galapagos and Juan Fernández: system models in the studies of vascular plants. Original title: Archipiélagos del Pacífico: Galápagos y Juan Fernández: sistemas modelos en los estudios de plantas vasculares, Patricio López-Sepúlveda y Hugo Valdebenito, Chile – Ecuador, Universidad de Concepción / Universidad San Francisco de Quito. (plopezs@udec.cl / eturricola@gmail.com) y (hvaldebenito@usfq.edu.ec / valdebenito.hugo@hotmail.com).


S14: Invasions by plants in Latin America: state of knowledge and research perspectives. Original title: Invasiones por plantas en América Latina: estado del conocimiento y perspectivas de investigación, Ileana Herrera, Ecuador, Universidad Estatal Espíritu Santo. (ileanaherrera@uees.edu.ec / herrera.ita@gmail.com).


S15: Neotropical Lianas. Original title: Lianas Neotropicales, Pedro Acevedo, United States, Smithsonian Institution. (acevedop@si.edu / acevedo.pedro1@gmail.com).


S16: Conservation and management of the High Andean Forests. Original title: Conservación y manejo de los Bosques Altoandinos, Claudia Segovia y Katya Romoleroux, Ecuador, Universidad de las Fuerzas Armadas ESPE / Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador, PUCE. (mcsegovia@espe.edu.ec) y (kromoleroux@puce.edu.ec).


S17: Restoration of the coverage of coastal dunes. Original title: Restauración de la cobertura vegetal de dunas costeras, Península de Hicacos, Yasiel Rojas González, Cuba, Centro de Servicios Ambientales de Matanzas. (yasielr@csam.cu / bioyasrgl@gmail.com).


S18: Conservation of the plant biodiversity focused on endemism: Challenges in the neotropics. Original title: Conservación de la biodiversidad vegetal enfocado en endemismo: Retos en el neotrópico, Gabriel Picón Nava, Venezuela, Fundación Dos Aguas. (gabriel.picon@fundaciondosaguas.org.ve / gabrielpicon@yahoo.com).


S19: Flora, Vegetation, and Conservation of the Amazonian mountain ranges. Original title: Flora, Vegetación y Conservación de las Cordilleras Amazónicas, David Neill, Mercedes Asanza y Pablo Lozano, Ecuador, Universidad Estatal Amazónica. (dneill@uea.edu.ec, gman2260@gmail.com y plozano@uea.edu.ec).


S20: Wood and Bark: Structure and function. Original title: Madera y corteza: Estructura y función, Fidel Roig, Argentina y México, CONICET – Dendrocronología and Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. (froig@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar).


S21: Cactaceae

S21.1: Advances in the study of the Cactaceae family. Original title: Avances en el estudio de la familia Cactaceae, Teresa Terrazas, México, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. (tterrazas@ib.unam.mx / elphe010@yahoo.com.mx).

S21.2: Integral studies of Cactaceae. Original title: Estudios integrales de Cactaceas, Fatima Caceres de Baldarrago, Peru, Universidad Nacional de San Agustín. (dcaceresh@unsa.edu.pe / facahu60@gmail.com).

 


S22: IX Latin American Symposium of Bryology. Original title: IX Simposio Latinoamericano de Briología, Jaime Uribe Meléndez, Colombia, Universidad Nacional de Colombia. (juribem@unal.edu.co / jauribem@gmail.com).


S23: Current situation and perspectives of knowledge of ferns and lycophytes in Latin America. Original title: Situación actual y perspectivas del conocimiento de los helechos y licofitas en Latinoamérica, Mónica Palacios-Rios, México: Instituto de Ecología, A.C. – Universidad Veracruzana. (monicapalaciosrios@me.com / monicapalaciosrios@gmail.com).


S24:  Evolution of the Compositae in a global context. Original title: Evolución de las Compositae en un contexto global, Itziar Arnelas, Ecuador, Gustavo Heiden, Brasil and Vicki Funk, United States, Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja, UTPL (iarnelas@utpl.edu.ec/itziarnelas2@gmail.com), Embrapa Clima Temperado, Brasil (gustavo.heiden@gmail.com) y Smithsonian Institution (funkv@si.edu / funkva@gmail.com).


S25: Diversity and phylogeny of neotropical boraginales. Original title: Diversidad y filogenia de boraginales neotropicales, María Natividad Sánchez de Stapf, Panamá, Universidad de Panamá. (maria.stapf@up.ac.pa / mnstapf@yahoo.com).


S26: Systematics and Evolution of Piperales. Original title: Sistemática y Evolución de Piperales, Daniel Silva Sierra, Colombia, Universidad de Antioquia. (dsilvasierra@me.com / danielsilvasierra@gmail.com).


S27: Parallel patterns in large, taxonomically complex groups: systematics, evolution and ecology of Neotropical Myrtales, Augusto Giaretta, Brazil, Universidade de São Paulo, USP. (augustogiaretta@usp.br / augustogiaretta@gmail.com).


S28: Systematic, evolution, ecology, diversity, and conservation of Neotropical Magnoliaceae. Original title: Sistemática, evolución, ecología, diversidad y conservación de Magnoliaceae del Neotrópico, José Antonio Vázquez García, México, Universidad de Guadalajara. (jvazquez@cucba.udg.mx / talaumaofeliae@gmail.com).


S29: Systematic, Ecology and Evolution of Melastomataceae in the Neotropics. Original title: Sistemática, Ecología y Evolución de Melastomataceae en el Neotrópico, Fabián A. Michelangeli, USA; Diana Fernández, Ecuador y Carmen Ulloa, USA, Institute of Systematic Botany / The New York Botanical Garden. (fabian@nybg.org), Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad del Ecuador, (fernandezdiana@yahoo.com) y Jardín Botánico de Missouri. (carmen.ulloa@mobot.org).


S30: The Sapindaceae family in the Neotropic. Original title: La familia Sapindaceae en el Neotropico, Pedro Acevedo, United States, Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of Natural History, Dept of Botany. (acevedop@si.edu / acevedo.pedro1@gmaill.com).


S31: Studies in Chrysobalanaceae, Cynthia Sothers, United Kingdom, Kew Gardens. (c.sothers@kew.org).


S32: Joint Symposium Pan-American Scholar: Asociación Latinoamericana de Botánica – Botanical Society of America ALB-BSA, Alina Freire-Fierro, Ecuador, Asociación Latinoamericana de Botánica ALB, alina.ff@gmail.com; Thomas L. Rost, USA, Botanical Society of America BSA, tlrost@ucdavis.edu.


S33: Lichen Symposium. Original title: Simposio de líquenes, Ángel Benítez, Ecuador, Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja, UTPL. (arbenitez@utpl.edu.ec / abenitezchavez@gmail.com).


S34: Paramos

S34.1: Plant ecology and evolution in the paramos. Original title: Ecología y evolución vegetal en los páramos, Jesús Mavárez, Francia,. Laboratoire d’Ecologie Alpine. (jesus.mavarez@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr / mavarez@gmail.com).

S34.2: Studies in Filogenomics and Biogeography of the Andean Flora. Original title: Estudios en Filogenómica y Biogeografía de la Flora de los Andes, Amalia Díaz, Colombia/Estados Unidos, Plants Resources Center, The University of Texas at Austin. (amaliadiaz@utexas.edu / amalia.diaz@gmail.com).


S35: Advances in the knowledge of the evolutionary history of flagellates plants. Original title: Avances en el conocimiento de la historia evolucionaria de las plantas flageladas, Gordon Burleigh y Lorena Endara A., USA, University of Florida. (gburleigh@ufl.edu y clendara@hotmail.com).


S36: The challenge continues: diversity, systematics and evolution of large angiosperm genera in the Neotropics. Original title: El desafío continúa: diversidad, sistemática y evolución de grandes géneros de angiospermas en el Neotrópico (The challenge continues: diversity, systematics, and evolution of megadiverse angiosperm genera in the Neotropics), Ricarda Riina, Spain: Real Jardín Botánico, CSIC. (rriina@rjb.csic.es / rgriina@gmail.com).


S37: Diversification and speciation in naturally fragmented environments. Original title: Diversificação e especiação em ambientes naturalmente fragmentados, Rafael Louzada y Clarisse Palma da Silva, Brazil: Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, UFPE (rb.louzada@gmail.com) y Universidade Estadual de Campinas, UNICAMP.


S38: Botanic databases in Latin America (tentative title)

S38.1: A challenge of the international community for 2020: Challenges and opportunities for Latin American botanists developing the Flora World Online. Original title: Un desafío de la comunidad internacional para el 2020: Retos y oportunidades para los botánicos de Latinoamérica desarrollando la Flora Mundial en Línea, William Ulate, United States, Jardín Botánico de Missouri. (william.ulate@mobot.org / william_ulate_r@yahoo.com).

S38.2: Advances in GSPC Goal 1 in Latin America. Original title: Avanços da Meta 1 da GSPC na América do Sul, Universidade Federal do Paraná/Universidade de São Paulo, Renato Goldenberg/Lucia Lohmann, Brasil (llohmann@usp.br, renato.goldenberg@gmail.com


S39: Application and Use of Native Genetic Resources of the Neo and Subneotropics. Original title: Aplicación y Uso de los Recursos Genéticos Nativos del Neo y Subneotropico, Renée H. Fortunato, Argentina, Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria (INTA); Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET); Facultad de Agronomía y Ciencias Agroalimentarias, UM. (fortunato.renee@inta.gob.ar / rhfortunato2002@yahoo.com.ar).


S40: Latin American Symposium of Araceae. Original title: Simposio Latinoamericano de Araceae, Felipe Cardona Naranjo y Julio Andrés Sierra Giraldo, Colombia, Universidad de Antioquia. (felipe.cardona@udea.edu.co) y Universidad de Caldas. (andresierra25@gmail.com).


S41: Private Reservations and Urban Green Areas

S41.1: Biodiversity and Conservation of the Flora in Private Reservations of the Americas. Original title: Biodiversidad y Conservación de Flora en las Reservas Privadas de las Américas, María Cristina Weyland Vieira, Brasil, Confederación Brasileña de las Reservas Particulares del Patrimonio Natural, RPPNs. Associação de RPPN e outras Reservas Privadas de Minas Gerais. Instituto Sul Mineiro de Estudos e Conservação da Natureza. (arpemg.rppn@gmail.com).

S41.2: Plants and Urban Green Areas in Latin America: Contributions, development and functionality. Original title: Plantas y Áreas Verdes Urbanas en Latinoamérica: Aportes, desarrollo y funcionalidad, Gabriel Picón Nava, Venezuela, Fundación Dos Aguas. (gabriel.picon@fundaciondosaguas.org.ve, gabrielpicon@yahoo.com).


S42: Parasite Plants. Original title: Plantas parásitas, Gregorio Ceccantini, Brasil, Instituto de Biociencias – Universidade de Sao Paulo. Grupo de Anatomia Ecológica da Madeira e Biologia de Plantas Parasitas. Laboratorio de Anatomia Vegetal, IB-USP. (gregorioceccantini@gmail.com).


S43: Plant inventory networks in Latin America, Renato Augusto Ferreira de Lima, Brasil, Hans ter Steege, Netherlands; Kyle Dexter, UK y Toby Pennington, UK, Lab. de Ecologia Teórica (LET), Depto. de Ecologia, Universidade de São Paulo (USP) (raflima@usp.br). Naturalis Biodiversity Center. The University of Edingurgh (kdexter@exseed.ed.ac.uk) y Royal Botanical Garden Edinburgh (t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk).


S44: I Latin American Symposium of Pteridology. Original title: I Simposio Latinoamericano de Pteridología, David Sanín, Brazil, Universidad Federal de Minas Gerais. (dav.sanin@outlook.com / dav.sanin@gmail.com).


S45: Ecology and management of neotropical palms. Original title: Ecología y manejo de palmas neotropicales, María Cristina Peñuela, Ecuador y Néstor García, Colombia, Universidad Regional Amazónica, IKIAM. (mariacristina.penuela@ikiam.edu.ec / crisantema1995@gmail.com). Pontificia Universidad Javeriana. (nestor.garcia@javeriana.edu.co / njgarcia22@gmail.com).


S46: I Latin American Meeting of Postgraduates in Botany and related. Original title: I Encuentro Latinoamericano de Posgrados en Botánica y afines, Carlos Alberto Agudelo Henao, Colombia, Universidad del Quindío. (cagudelo@uniquindio.edu.co / agudelohenao@yahoo.com).


S47: Latin American Herbarium Network. Original title: Red Latinoamericana de Herbarios, Ana Odete Vieira, Brasil, Universidad do Rio Grande do Sul. (aovieira@uel.br).


S48: Neotropical Mycology. Original title: Micologia Neotropical, Paul Gamboa y Rosa Batallas Molina, Ecuador, Universidad Central de Ecuador, UCE y Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad, INABIO. (paulgamboativi@hotmail.com) y (rosa.batallas@biodiversidad.gob.ec).


S49: Neotropical Legumes. Original title: Leguminosas Neotropicales, Bente Klitgaard, Reino Unido; Bertil Ståhl, Suecia y David Neil, Ecuador. Kew Botanical Garden (B.Klitgaard@kew.org); Universidad Estatal Amazónica (dneill@uea.edu.ec).